Message from the Chair

The Honourable
Campbell Newman MP

Welcome to the website for the Council for the Australian Federation (CAF). This is where you can find out more about decisions, actions and commitments taken by state and territory governments as a 'united front' on key national policy issues. CAF consists of state and territory Premiers and Chief Ministers. It was first formed in 2006. Victoria was instrumental in establishing CAF and former South Australian Premier Mike Rann was the inaugural Chair. CAF meets from time to time to discuss and resolve important issues independently of the Commonwealth.

Read the full message

Council for the Australian Federation

The Council for the Australian Federation (CAF) was formed in October 2006 to support and enhance our federal system by providing an intergovernmental forum for State and Territory leaders in Australia. Each State and Territory Premier or Chief Minister is a member of CAF the current Chair is the Premier of Queensland, the Hon Campbell Newman MP.

In 2013 the Council reviewed its operations and reaffirmed its objectives. The Council's objectives are to:

  • work toward common understanding of the States' and Territories' positions in relation to policy issues involving the Commonwealth Government
  • take a leadership role on key national policy issues, including the Federation, that are not addressed by the Commonwealth Government.